Don’t settle for anything less than the best

camden running
I helped a woman today carry some bulky cases of water to her cart. This is a simple gesture and doesn’t require any praise. I am not telling you this for self-promotion but what she told me would stick with me and ultimately be the driving force behind this post. She said, “I am not use to being treated like this.” I didn’t know what to say so all I said was I don’t mind, but what I wanted to say was, “You should be use to it, it should happen everyday for you and you shouldn’t settle for anything less!!!”

Who say’s that you can’t have it all? Who has told you that you can’t be rich or that you have to settle for living paycheck to paycheck? Who says that only the rich get richer and the poor poorer? Most of all, who says that you shouldn’t be treated with respect and kindness? For some reason we have been made to assume that we only deserve a limited amount: a limited income, only to love so much or to be loved so much, or to give just enough or to get just enough. I’m not talking about gluttony but rather having the knowledge that we deserve the best and the most that life has to offer no matter what that may be. Whatever is important to you, go at it to the fullest because the fullest is what you deserve. This isn’t meant to be some self-help bumper sticker but to notify readers that the best is what is deserved and that we should settle for anything else.

Leave a comment